FlexCAR

     

Entwicklung einer offenen Fahrzeugplattform für die Mobilität der Zukunft

Contact

Dr. Klaus Fürderer

Daimler AG

Dr. Klaus Fürderer is a physicist and heads the FlexCAR project. He is responsible for the external appearance and represents FlexCAR towards the project sponsor and the partners.

FlexCAR

The open platform with open interfaces for the updatable and upgradeable vehicle of the future

Smartphones have fundamentally changed the way we communicate. Extensive office and data communication is possible from any place and at any time. Standardized and open software interfaces (API) allow third party providers to offer new applications based on existing hardware.

The vision of the collaborative project FlexCAR is to transfer this development to new mobility concepts...

... by opening up the process of innovation, development, production, and distribution. Suppliers as well as new market participants such as start-ups or developer communities are invited to provide services and components for the platform operator (OEM) or directly for the end customer over the entire vehicle life cycle. For this purpose, interfaces must be defined on the hardware and software side. They must be as easy to use as possible (plug & play), but still meet the highest cybersecurity requirements.

Within the framework of the cyberphysical vehicle platform FlexCAR, self-reflecting, self-describing and service-oriented components are to be developed and integrated in a vehicle demonstrator.

The open platform with open interfaces is a visionary way to react to the increasingly heterogeneous and volatile requirements of the market. User requirements change in ever shorter cycles, which in turn lead to greatly shortened product and technology life cycles. This places demands on the vehicle and producers of the future that can no longer be met by conventional means.

The FlexCAR project is divided into four thematic areas

Subject area 1 - "Rolling Chassis" develops an electrically driven and fully X-by-Wire driven research platform with accessible and open software and hardware – the Rolling Chassis. The platform serves as an aggregate carrier and common basis for the individual FlexCAR technologies.

The focus of topic 2 - "Interior and cyberphysical access" deals with these very topics. If the customer books a ride via an app, the request is sent and processed via 5G. According to the customer's requirements, a vehicle is assigned and the customer is provided with information regarding place and time. The vehicle arrives at the agreed time at the agreed place and keeps an eye out for the customer. Contact can be made with the vehicle via outward facing cameras. Only authorized individuals are granted access and the trip is billed accordingly. The future interaction between passengers and autonomous vehicles is also important while driving and is another research topic in the FlexCAR project.

Subject area 3 - "Flexible product and production concepts" the production concept of FlexCAR will be developed in close cooperation with the Fluid Production project. The factory components will be networked and communicate in a common language. With the help of standardized interfaces, the Rolling Chassis is part of the cyberphysical production system and can be used during production, for example, as a driverless transport system, thus replacing current transport and conveyor technology in the factory.

Subject area 4 - "Open development process of modular vehicles" deals with the implementation of one of the essential criteria of FlexCAR, the open development process. The aim is to achieve open interfaces for hardware and software, which will allow new business models to be established. FlexCAR is consequently much more than just a new vehicle concept, but offers a research platform for the central development and production of modular vehicle systems.

"ARENA2036 is an ideal environment for us to work together with other partners on innovative topics. The Research Campus offers optimal conditions for interdisciplinary cooperation across company and institute borders."

Jens Maier

CEO

csi entwicklungstechnik GmbH

"The close cooperation with various industrial partners and institutes opens up completely new possibilities for my research. Through the constant exchange and the short distances, I am able to come up with completely new ideas and can quickly implement and test them."

M.Sc. Annika Ackermann

Scientific assistant for fibre composite technology

University of Stuttgart

"On behalf of the Mercedes-Benz AG research department, we are developing an autonomously driving research platform (Rolling Chassis) in ARENA2036, which will serve as the basis for the publicly funded FlexCAR project. Within the scope of this project, a multitude of innovative production processes up to the latest technologies for electric-autonomous driving will be used. In almost all areas, experts from industry and science are located on the research campus ARENA2036, who are highly committed to applying their knowledge. Especially the diversity in a small area in combination with the latest infrastructure offers unlimited possibilities to contribute to the future."

Martin Gottwald

Project Manager FlexCAR Rolling Chassis

Daimler AG

FlexCAR

     

Entwicklung einer offenen Fahrzeugplattform für die Mobilität der Zukunft

FlexCAR

Die offene Plattform mit offenen Schnittstellen für das update- und upgradefähige Fahrzeug der Zukunft

Smartphones haben unsere Nutzung der Telefonie grundlegend geändert. Umfangreiche Büro- und Datenkommunikation ist von jedem Ort und zu jeder Zeit möglich. Standardisierte und offene Software Schnittstellen (API) ermöglichen Drittanbietern neue Applikationen auf Basis der bestehenden Hardware anzubieten.

Die Vision des Verbundprojekts FlexCAR ist die Übertragung dieser Entwicklung auf die neuen Mobilitätskonzepte...

... durch die Öffnung des Innovations-, Entwicklungs-, Produktions- und Vertriebsprozesses. Zulieferer aber auch neue Marktteilnehmer wie Start-Ups oder Entwicklercommunities werden eingeladen, über den gesamten Fahrzeuglebenszyklus Dienstleistungen und Komponenten für den Plattformbetreiber (OEM) oder auch direkt für den Endkunden zur Verfügung zu stellen. Dazu sind hard- und softwareseitig Schnittstellen zu definieren. Sie müssen möglichst einfach (plug & play) zu nutzen sein, aber trotzdem höchsten Anforderungen an Cybersecurity genügen.

Im Rahmen der cyberphysischen Fahrzeugplattform FlexCAR sollen selbstreflektierende, selbstbeschreibende und serviceorientierte Komponenten in einem Innovationsnetzwerk entwickelt und deren Nutzung in einem Fahrzeugdemonstrator dargestellt werden.

Die offene Plattform mit offenen Schnittstellen ist ein visionärer Weg, um auf die zunehmend heterogenen und volatilen Anforderungen des Marktes zu reagieren. Nutzeranforderungen verändern sich in immer kürzeren Zeitschritten und führen zu stark verkürzten Produkt- und Technologielebenszyklen. Dies stellt Anforderungen an das Fahrzeug und die Produzenten der Zukunft, die auf herkömmlichem Wege nicht mehr zu bewältigen sind.

Das Projekt FlexCAR gliedert sich in vier Themenbereiche

Der Themenbereich 1 "Rolling Chassis" entwickelt eine elektrisch angetriebene und vollständig X-by-Wire angesteuerte Forschungsplattform mit zugänglicher und offener Soft- und Hardware – das Rolling Chassis. Die Plattform dient als Aggregateträger und gemeinsame Basis für die FlexCAR-Einzeltechnologien.

Der Schwerpunkt des Themenbereichs 2 "Interieur und cyberphysischer Einstieg" beschäftigt sich mit ebendiesen Themen. Bucht der Kunde eine Fahrt über eine App, so wird die Anfrage über 5G gesendet und verarbeitet. Entsprechend der Kundenanforderungen wird ein Fahrzeug zugewiesen und dem Kunden die Angaben über Ort und Zeit übermittelt. Das Fahrzeug trifft zum vereinbarten Zeitpunkt am vereinbarten Ort ein und hält Ausschau nach dem Kunden. Über nach außen gerichtete Kameras kann mit dem Fahrzeug Kontakt aufgenommen werden. Es wird nur berechtigten Personen Zutritt gewährt und die Fahrt entsprechend abgerechnet. Die zukünftige Interaktion zwischen Passagieren und autonomen Fahrzeugen ist auch während der Fahrt wichtig und ein weiteres Forschungsthema im Projekt FlexCAR.

Themenbereich 3 – "Flexible Produkt- und Produktionskonzepte" wird in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Projekt Fluide Produktion das Produktionskonzept von FlexCAR erarbeitet. Die Fabrikkomponenten werden vernetzt sein und in einer gemeinsamen Sprache kommunizieren. Mit Hilfe standardisierter Schnittstellen ist das Rolling Chassis Teil des cyberphysischen Produktionssystems und kann während der Fertigung beispielsweise als fahrerloses Transportsystem eingesetzt werden und ersetzt somit heutige Transport- und Fördertechnik im Werk.

Der Themenbereich 4 "Offener Entwicklungsprozess modularer Fahrzeuge" beschäftigt sich damit, eines der wesentlichen Kriterien von FlexCAR, der offene Entwicklungsprozess, auch so umzusetzen. Ziel sind offene Schnittstellen bei Hard- und Software, wodurch neue Geschäftsmodelle etabliert werden können. FlexCAR ist damit viel mehr, als nur ein neues Fahrzeugkonzept, sondern bietet eine Forschungsplattform für die zentrale Entwicklung und Fertigung modularer Fahrzeugsysteme.

"Die Arena 2036 ist für uns ein ideales Umfeld um gemeinsam mit den anderen Partnern an innovativen Themen zu arbeiten. Der Forschungscampus bietet optimale Voraussetzungen zur interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit über Unternehmens- und Institutsgrenzen hinweg.“

Jens Maier

Geschäftsführer

csi entwicklungstechnik GmbH

„Die enge Kooperation mit verschiedensten Industriepartnern und Instituten ermöglicht ganz neue Möglichkeiten für meine Forschung. Durch den ständigen Austausch und die kurzen Wege kommt man auf völlig neue Ideen und kann diese schnell umsetzen sowie erproben.“

M.Sc. Annika Ackermann

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin Faserverbundtechnologie

Universität Stuttgart

„Im Auftrag der Forschung der Mercedes-Benz AG entwickeln wir in der ARENA2036 eine autonom fahrende Forschungsplattform (Rolling Chassis), welche als Basis für das öffentlich geförderte Projekt FlexCAR dienen soll. Im Rahmen dessen werden eine Vielzahl innovativer Fertigungsverfahren bis hin zu den neuesten Technologien für das elektrisch-autonomen Fahren eingesetzt. Auf nahezu allen Gebieten finden sich hierfür Experten aus Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft am Forschungscampus ARENA2036, die mit hohem Engagement ihr Wissen zur Anwendung bringen. Gerade die Vielfalt auf engem Raum in Kombination mit der neuesten Infrastruktur bieten uneingeschränkte Möglichkeiten einen Beitrag für die Zukunft zu leisten.“

Martin Gottwald

Projektleiter FlexCAR Rolling Chassis

Daimler AG